KMTI - Knowledge Management Training InstituteKb4E - knowledge before effect

 

Warfighter Feedback

Subject:

Performance for Mr. XXXX XXXXXX (Dated 19 July 2012)

Content:

It is with pleasure that I write this letter on behalf of XXXXX. I would like to extend my sincere gratitude to him for his dedicated efforts in providing critical Knowledge Management advie and assistance in support of Regional Command (South). and Commander Kandahar Airfield (COMKAF). Through continuous and effective co-operation with the Regional Command (South) SIGINT and Electronic Warfare Operations Centre (SEWOC) he has enabled the SEWOC to diligently execute its mission and indirectly complimented and strengthened Forxe Protection within the Kandahar Airfield (KAF) Ground Defense Area (GDA).

Despite the difficulties posed be extended working hours and frequent indirect rocket attacks the assistance and support XXXXX provided ensured that the Regional Command (South) SEWOC was able to implement a number of information management strategies which improved our delivery of timely and accurate intelligence reports, situational awareness and force protection to intelligence customers and partners alike.

As well as being an Information Technoogy professional, his personal advice, friendship and greater understanding of the ISAF Joint Command and NATO systems architectures ensured that my staff were able to implement best practices and receive the best possible Knowledge Management support. This has made a tangible difference to the way in which this SEWOC operates.

XXXXX's diligence, professionalism, energy and genuine concern for making a difference make him a joy to work with. In the short time that I worked with him, he has become a life-long friend whom I hope to see the future. He is a team player who is a great asset to any organization.

 

Signed

Submitted by:
Major, Australian Army, Headquarters Regional Command (South) Kandahar Air Field, Afghanistan
Subject:

Performance for Mr. XXXX XXXXXX (Dated 29 May 2012)

Content:

Prior to me redeploying, need to highlight XXXXX XXXXXX who excelled while I've been the NTM-A KM Chief; without XXXX's initiative, knowledge, drive, expertise, NTM-A's Information Management Strategy (IMS) wouldn't have made remarkable gains. Request you forward my email to the appropriate company leadership for maximum visibility.

I still remember the first days when XXXXX arrived at the command, he assisted me with creating SIPR and NIPR portal pages as well as updating a CENTRIXS portal page. He impressed me with his customer orientation. XXXX has continued with the focused while I was assigned as the KM Chief. This is important in order for the KM Division to have credibility within the command.

I consider XXXXX as a key reason why the IMS has been so successful. He served as the KM lead for the first IMS "win" by creating and fielding the CENTRIXS Report Center - the crucible to having CENTRIXS "purple page" as the primary means for the command to collaborate. This page made many non-KM believers into believers. XXXXX was the lead developer for the JOC Quick Look; his operational experience paid dividends developing this tool which the command uses to main SA within the CJOA. In addition, XXXXX is leading with the development of the JOC Enhancement Project which includes the Quick Look along with the Transition, Force Structure and ANSF Development Pillars. He has quickly developed a transition tool which links directly into the Unified Transition Plan (UTP) Project. These are critical monitoring tools for the command's success over the next couple of years as the command transitions, re-missions or closes institutions. Using his foresight, XXXXX is working the Force Structure Pillar by developing a test database which will be used to develop a tool even though we aren't ready to move out on these projects.

Throughout, XXXXX demonstrates keen KM skills; these translate well considering his excellent leadership skills. He is a "people" person able to maximize strengths within a team environment. Likewise, he is a team player willing to put forth the team's gains over other priorities. He has taught me many KM aspects; I value his recommendations when needing to make a decision.

As required, request he be considered for extensions; he adds value and continuity to the division.

 

Signed

Submitted by:
Col, USMC, NTM-A/CSTC-A CJ3 KM/LNO Chief
Subject:

Performance for Mr. XXXX XXXXXX (Dated 29 May 2012)

Content:

Prior to me redeploying, need to highlight XXXX XXXX who excelled while I've been the NTM-A KM Chief; without XXXX's leadership, initiative, expertise NTM-A's Information Management Strategy (IMS) wouldn't have made remarkable gains. Request you forward my email to the appropriate company leadership for maximum visibility.

XXXX's performance during the past 12 months as the NTM-A/CSTC-A Knowledge Management (KM) Trainer has been exemplary. During that period, I have had the great pleasure of working closely and observing him as he led NTM-A/CSTC-A KM Training. His many years of flag level experience have given him a keen and clear understanding of high level combined joint staff functions as related to the effective implementation and use of KM. He is without question a highly experienced and mission oriented KMer providing the way ahead for KM training in direct support of the command's IMS. As a result, the KM training program at NTM-A/CSTC-A has been highly successful supporting the NTM-A/CSTC-A mission. His energy, dedication and expert understanding of Knowledge Management have proved invaluable to the CJ3 and have positively impacted the entire command. His insight, advice and support to me as the KM Chief have been invaluable.

Although XXXX's primary duty is KM Trainer, his contribution to support KM at NTM-A/CSTC-A has not been limited to training. He developed and published the command KM Training Plan, wrote the command's policy on Continuity and Turnover. XXXX played a key role creating and publishing the NTM-A IMS. The IMS has been so successful that the ISAF KMO adopted the strategy for theater wide implementation. In addition, XXXX helped write and produce detailed IMS charters to stand up the command's Information Management Steering Committee, Information Management Board, And Knowledge Management Working Group, as well as numerous FRAGOs providing policy and guidance to the NTM-A staff. XXXX filled in as KMO during the KMO's absence where he provided key leadership and guidance to the CJ36 KM Staff and outstanding support to NTM-A leadership. His sound guidance and wisdom to me have been invaluable to the success of KM supporting NTM-A.

XXXX XXXX's professionalism and dedication demonstrate the qualities expected of NTM-A/CSTC-A team members. His solid, dependable performance will undoubtedly continue, supporting NTM-A's goals and mission with great results.

 

Signed

Submitted by:
Col, USMC, NTM-A/CSTC-A CJ3 KM/LNO Chief
Subject:

Performance for Mr. XXXX XXXXXX (Dated 01 May 2012)

Content:

I would like to take this opportunity to convey my appreciation for the tremendous contribution that Mr. XXXX XXXXX made to our efforts in the Consolidated Stability Operations Center (SCOC), Camp Julien, Kabul Afghanistan. XXXX has been assigned to CSOC throughout my 6 month tenure as Director during which I have had daily contact with XXXX in the performace of his duties. He has proven to be a superbly effective and high performing member of our team. His contributions have made significant contribution to our efforts in support of the International Security Assistance Force Civil-Military Integration Program's success.

XXXX's expertise as an Information Manager is beyond reproach. His skills resolved many issues for us and directly resulted in our sustained mission success. He possesses the highest degree of personal integrity and a sense of duty that set the example for all in the CSOC to emulate. His performace is characterized by a "can do" attitude and an aggressive pursuit of excellence in his work. There was no issue too complex for his to takeon and find innovative and workable solutions. I have included a summary of his accomplishments while assigned to CSOC to illustrate the scope and comlexity of his efforts.

XXX has earned my trust and confidence to perform his duties without supervision. While he did not have managerial responsibilities, I would not hesitate to put him in a supervisory role and I would actively seek his assignment to that capacity. XXXX has superbly represented TRIQUETRA TECHNOLIGIES. I most strongly recommend him for promotion and recognition through corporation venues including monetary award for his outstanding performace at the CSOC.

Signed

Submitted by:
Director, Consolidated Stability Operations Center, Camp Julien (Afghanistan)
Subject:

Recommendation ICO Mr. XXXXXX X. XXXXXXXXX, NTM-A/CSTC-A KM Trainer (Dated 06 Jan 2012)

Content:

1. XXXX's performance of duties for the last eight months while assigned as the NTM-A/CSTC-A Knowledge Management (KM) Trainer has been outstanding. I have had the pleasure to closely observe him lead NTM-A/CSTC-A KM Training. He is without question a highly experienced and mission oriented KM providing the way ahead for Knowledge Management training in direct support of the command's Information Management Strategy (IMS). I personally could not expect the KM training program to be as successful supporting the NTM-A/CSTC-A mission without Jeff as the KM Trainer. His energy, dedication and expert understanding of Knowledge Management have proved invaluable to the CJ3 and have positively impacted the entire command. He leads KM newcomer's training, KM Professional Military Education (PME) and the command's user level Share Point training and is known as the "to go" guy for all things KM. His insight, advice and support to me as the KM Chief are second to none.

2. XXXX performs his duties with passion and devotion setting an excellent example for the T2, Volant and ISS contractors. On a daily basis, he makes every effort to maintain strong relationships with all of NTM-A/CSTC-A personnel constantly training and working KM issues that are paramount to the command's Information Management Strategy success. He is always eager to assist others in order to improve processes and increase command-wide collaboration while increasing efficiencies ultimately saving the command money and manpower. His positive attitude and ability to train the command in KM and Share Point make him an irreplaceable asset to NTM-A/CSTC-A Knowledge Management.

3. XXXX XXXXXXXXX' first-rate experience and dedication demonstrate the qualities expected of a member of the NTM-A/CSTC-A team. I am certain he will continue to excel and exceed our goals with great results.

Signed

Submitted by:
NTM-A/CSTC-A Knowledge Management (KM)/Liaison Officer (LNO) Chief
Subject:

Retention of current KMO past contract departure date (Dated September 2011)

Content:

I am requesting that my current KMO, Mr. XXXXXX, be retained within Regional Command West past his current contract departure date. Mr. XXXXXXX, and the position of Knowledge Manager, provides an invaluable and irreplaceable asset to the Regional Command West. Mr. XXXXXXX's Knowledge Management activities for the last nine months and during my tenure as Chief of Staff, Regional Command West, are known personally. As Chief of Staff, operations are positively impacted daily by his dedication to improving a secure, real-time, collaborative information sharing environment that ultimately executes information flow to myself, my Senior Staff, IJC and ISAF. Not only does Mr. XXXXXX produce actionable results in his daily responsibilites, but his willingness to tackle any problem that is outside the scope of his contractual duties is visible to all and is truly appreciated. Filling the role of sole Knowledge Manager and Information Manager is no daunting task in the austere environment to which we work, but I also credit Mr. XXXXXXXX's tireless and never ending dedication to his duties.

There have been several challenging Knowledge Management problem sets during the course of Mr. XXXXXXX current tenure that he was able to analyze, develop a solution and execute that solution to overcome the problem and improve the efficiency of the Regional Command, Fusion Center and subordinate units. Mr. XXXXXX's acute attention to the specific needs of the Command, professional and respected relationships with the Command Senior Staff, has been extremely remarkable, resulting in nothing less that an outstanding job.

I would like to express my gratitude to the ISAF KMO office and Triquetra Technologies Inc. in providing top notch personnel to this combat forward operating area and to myself, the battle space owner.

Signed

Submitted by:
Chief of Staff, Regional Command (RC) West Herat (Afghanistan)
Subject:

Certificate of Appreciation (Dated September 2011)

Content:

During his tour, Mr.XXXXXXX positively impacted daily operations by his dedication to improving a secure, real-time, collaborative information sharing environment that ultimately executes information flow to myself, my Senior Staff, IJC and ISAF.

Not only does MR. XXXXXXX produce actionable results in his daily duties, but his willingness to tackle any problem that is outside the scope of his contractual duties is visible to all and is truly appreciated. Filling the role of sole Knowledge Manager and Informational Manager is a credit to his dedication to his work.

There have been several challenging Knowledge Management problem sets during the course of Mr. XXXXXXX's current tenure that he was able to analyze, develop a solution, and execute that solution to overcome the problem and improve the efficiency of Regional Command West, Fusion Center and subordinate units.

Mr. XXXXXXX is a great credit to the ISAF mission, Triquetra TechnologiesInc, and his Country.

Signed

Submitted by:
ITA Army RC-W Commander, Regional Command (RC) West Headquarters, Herat (Afghanistan)
Subject:

Performance Feedback (Dated 11 Aug 2011)

Content:

1. The purpose of this letter is to provide you feedback regarding the job performances and mission essential contributions of your employees, Mr. XXXX XXXXX and Mr. XXX XXXXXXXX, as you consider personnel adjustments here in the ISAF Headquarters. I write from a position of acute awareness as I have been in Shafafiyat since 8 October 2010.

2. CJIATF Shafafiyat is probably the most dynamic ISAF organization. Established as CJIATF/DCOS Shafafiyat less than a year ago, it continues to evolve in mission, mission scope, and personnel. Critical to successful evolution and mission success is our ability to manage information and create from that information, knowledge. XXXX XXXXX and XXX XXXXXXXX are the lynchpins to that success. Specifically, they provided:

a. Support to Counter-Criminal Patronage Networks and Counter-Narcotics analysis efforts by analyzing and understanding requirements and proactively developing strategies to support them including the development of solutions to establish common operating picture across four domains (SIPR, NIPR, ISAF-S, and CENTRIX-S), developed a strategy for acquiring systems, software (DCGS-A, Analyst Notebook), training and SOP for CJIATF Shafafiyat and supporting nodes across the Combined Joint Operations Area (CJOA), and executed a DCGS-A fielding plan for CJIATF Nexus nodes (five) to support achievement of corruption and narco-trafficking Common Operating Picture.

b. Assessment support for the Neutralize Criminal Patronage Network Line of Operation (LOO) by closely working with Assessments Division Chief, and the Afghan Assessments Group (AAG), conducting analysis and providing relevant input to briefings, providing assistance in strategy to task crosswalks, mission analysis and development of metrics for Measures of Performance and Measures of Effectiveness, and in support of the COMISAF's Quarterly Strategic Campaign Review (QSCR) over the last three quarters, compiled data and prepared the assessments for 80 objectives and over 270 tasks, associated with Annex QQ and anti-corruption efforts across the AOR. In support of the latter, they scheduled and conducted post QSCR After Action Reviews establishing procedures for follow on assessments and developed and implemented the 90 Day Task Assessment spreadsheet, and presented to the staff and teams.

c. Information Sharing, Training and Education Support to over 122 Shafafiyat personnel since 3 October 2010. Training and education support consisted of the development and maintenance of reading lists and professional development libraries on NIPRnet, and Harmonieweb.org for inbound and external personnel, and partner organizations interested in anti-corruption efforts in Theater, training Shafafiyat users in the form or regular e-mail updates, briefings, and classroom environment instruction and hands on, one-on-one mentoring, and as the CJIATF Shafafiyat Program Manager lead for training, works with the Peace Keeping and Stability Operations Institute (PKSOI) to establish an anti-corruption training curriculum for inbound U.S. military, U.S. Chief of Mission authority and non U.S. Chief of Mission authority personnel. Ultimately Senior Service Colleges, the DoS Foreign Service Institute, and other critical partner training and education institutes will integrate this training into their curricula.

d. Civilian-Military Integration support by coordinating with the American Embassy-Kabul Interagency Provincial Affairs (IPA) directorate and one of our subordinate units the ISAF Joint Command (IJC) to: develop a biographic database and collection capability, implement a system to monitor and track projects and the associated aid used in funding the projects (AIMS), develop a collaborative portal at classified and unclassified levels to assist in information sharing with personnel at the Provincial Reconstruction Teams (PRT)s and other remote operating organizations.

e. Other critical support to CJIATF/DCOS by supporting the Shafafiyat move from two locations to three, with minimal mission disruption. This entailed drafting floor plans, and gaining accreditation of secure spaces and movement of existing computer systems and establishment of 43 new workstations residing on 4 networks (NIPR, SIPR, NATO Unclassified, Afghan Mission Network).

3. T2 Incorporated's continued contributions to Shafafiyat's mission are essential to our continued success. We do not anticipate any significant reductions in our personnel tempo, mission or mission scope. Anything short of T2's continued provision of Mike and Tom to fulfill our Knowledge Manager and Information Manager requirements would be unacceptable.

4. Please find enclosed the CJIATF Shafafiyat KM/IM Extension Justification signed 22 July 2011. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me or the CJIATF Shafafiyat Chief of Staff.

Signed

Submitted by:

Plans and Implementation, Shafafiyat

Subject:

Retention of Current KMO Past Contract Departure Date (Dated 01 Aug 2011)

Content:

I am requesting that my current KMO, Mr. XXXXX XXXXX, be retained within Regional Command West past his current contract departure date. Mr. XXXXX, and the position of Knowledge Manager, provides an invaluable and irreplaceable asset to the Regional Command West. Mr. XXXXX's Knowledge Management activities for the last nine months and during my tenure as Chief of Staff, Regional Command West are known personally. As Chief of Stall, operations are positively impacted daily by his dedication to improving a secure, real-time, collaborative information sharing environment that ultimately executes information flow to myself, my Senior Staff, IJC and ISAF. Not only does Mr. XXXXX produce actionable results in his daily responsibilities, but his willingness to tackle any problem that is outside the scope of his contractual duties is visible to all and is truly appreciated. Filling the role of sole Knowledge Manager and Information Manager is no daunting task in the austere environment in which we work, but I also credit Mr. XXXXX's tireless and never ending dedication to his duties.

There have been several challenging Knowledge Management problem sets during the course of Mr. XXXXX's current tenure that he was able to analyze, develop a solution and execute that solution to overcome the problem and improve the efficiency of the Regional Command, Fusion Center, and subordinate units. Mr. XXXXX's acute attention to the specific needs of the Command, professional and respected relationships with the Command Senior Staff, has been extremely remarkable, resulting in nothing less than an outstanding job.

I would like to express my gratitude to the ISAF KMO office and Triquetra Technologies Inc. in providing top notch personnel to this combat forward operating area and to myself, the battle space owner.

Signed

Submitted by:

Chief of Staff, Regional Command (RC) West Fusion Center, Camp Arena, Herat (Afghanistan)

Subject:

Letter of Commendation -- Mr. XXXXX XXXXX (Dated 18 Apr 2011)

Content:

I am writing this letter to report on the performance of one of your employees and to thank your company for providing an invaluable and irreplaceable asset, Mr. XXXXX XXXXX, as the Regional Command West Knowledge Manager. I have had the pleasure of observing Mr. XXXXX's Knowledge Management activities on a daily basis for the last six months. As Director of the RC West Fusion Center, my operation is positively impacted daily by his dedication to improving a secure, real-time, collaborative information sharing environment that ultimately executes information flow to the RC West Commander and Senior Staff.

Not only does XXXXX produce actionable results in his daily responsibilities, but his willingness to tackle any problem that is outside the scope of his contract is visible to all and is truly appreciated. Filling the role of sole Knowledge Manager and Information Manager is no daunting task in the austere environment in which we work, but I also credit XXXXX's tireless and never ending dedication to his duties.

There have been several challenging Knowledge Management problem sets during the course of Mr. XXXXX's current tenure that he was able to analyze, develop a solution and execute that solution to overcome the problem and improve the efficiency of the Regional Command and Fusion Center.

XXXXX's acute attention to the specific needs of the Command, professional and respected relationships with the Command Senior Staff, have been extremely remarkable, resulting in nothing less than an outstanding job.

Again, I would like to express my gratitude to Triquetra Technologies Inc. in providing top notch personnel to this combat forward operating area and the battle space owner. It would be my recommendation that XXXXX be elevated to a management position of greater responsibility in the future with your company.

Signed

Submitted by:

Director, Regional Command (RC) West Fusion Center, Camp Arena, Herat (Afghanistan)

 

 

 

 

 

KM for DoD
Practitioners


Sponsored By: T2
T2, Triquetra Technologies